Options

Color correction - face shot

djsilver666666djsilver666666 Registered Users Posts: 77 Big grins
edited July 11, 2008 in Finishing School
I'm still pretty new with using curves, and the only trick I use on a regular basis is clipping the 0-15 and 245-255 since it isn't printed. But I've tried a couple of more advanced manipulations, such as balancing RGB to get a pleasing skin tone. The results were acceptable at best :)

Well, today I took 2 photos for a roster page of a soccer team I help coach. Unfortunately it was cloudy and this was the only venue I could take the picture at, so I will have to make-do with what I have.

Since it's late, my edits are completed, so they will be up tomorrow. Here are the originals:

302718599_G3LNk-M.jpg

302718659_KphY7-M.jpg

There is certainly a green hue cast by all the foliage...

Comments

• Options
    edited May 28, 2008
    Here is my edit of the first picture:

302949869_LttHP-M.jpg

Here is my edit of the second picture:

302936159_2LugV-M.jpg

And if anybody wants to know, here are the changes I made:

(pic one)

302949912_EqFTi-M.jpg

302949890_4kW6T-M.jpg

(pic two)

302937631_2STMM-M.jpg

302937614_XpRue-M.jpg

Any feedback?...
  • Options
    jfriendjfriend Registered Users Posts: 8,097 Major grins
    edited May 28, 2008
    Your edit looks pretty good. Before you posted your edit, I had done one of my own. I used somewhat similar curves (though I moved the white point end of the curve, not the middle of the curve), but also did a few other things:
    • Curves for color correction (more red, less blue)
    • Selective color to remove a little cyan from the reds and tone down the greens (add black to the greens)
    • A slight curve for contrast
    • A pinch of shadow/highlights masked to the eye area to remove some of the shadows around the eyes
    • A little sharpening
    • A tighter crop