Options

Threads on Capture NX - Is it a robust tool?

LilyJackLilyJack Registered Users Posts: 25 Big grins
edited June 10, 2008 in Finishing School
Hi there,

I tried searching on Capture NX and didn't find much (10 posts to be exact) on it. I saw someone mention that there were several threads but perhaps they saw it on a different site? Here's my question:

I'm new to the D300 and basically any post processing procedures. (I moved from a Nikon N50) I borrowed PS 7 briefly from a friend which I've used very sparingly, if at all really but I know what the lasso tool is and the eyedropper but really don't understand how levels and curves and the like work. I've fiddled with them. Anyway, I got Capture NX with the D300. Is it a robust enough of a tool to use as my primary editing tool? I have to learn something through and through and want it to only be one program.

If Capture NX is good, any good tutorials out there or threads in here? Specifically, I'm looking to convert the images to B&W and do so in a way that keeps the tonal ranges. (And just so you know where I'm coming from, I know there's the "Filter/Black and White Conversion" action but I've read for Photoshop that's it good to look at the 3 color channels red, green & blue, and combine some of each. I can't seem to find the same breakdown in NX. )

Please just direct me to another thread if they exist. Thanks to all,
Kate

Comments

• Options
    HarrybHarryb Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 22,708 Major grins
    edited June 3, 2008
    Hey Kate,

I always felt that one got the best images from Capture. Its a very robust tool if you can stand the user interface. I preferred Capture to Capture NX but that was my preference, lots of users love NX.

You can get lots of info on it over at the nikon Cafe or the Nikonians websites. Also you might want to check out Jason Odell's web site. Jason is an expert on NX and his e-books on it are outstanding.
    Harry
    http://behret.smugmug.com/ NANPA member