Options

The impossible question....

MalindiMalindi Registered Users Posts: 50 Big grins
edited July 10, 2008 in Cameras
Or maybe it's the impossible answer...
I had a Canon S2 IS. Loved the thing for a few years, then the dreaded battery issue started and it was eating batteries left and right. Spent a small fortune replacing perfectly good rechargeable batteries... Long story.. Sold the damn thing for $50 cash yesterday. I took about 10,000 pictures with it in the last 2 years (one year on a motorcycle trip).
Now the dilemma... What now? The S5 IS is basically crap, with huge noise on simple shots and nowhere near as nice a picture quality as the S2. There are some other small compacts, but all seem to have one issue or other.
One of my initial criteria was to be able to use AA batteries. One look at the current landscape of cameras and that seems a hard thing to hold on to.
So I browse and come across the G9. Looks very nice but I have no experience with it. I love the compactness but wonder about the smaller lens.
I drift "upstairs" and look at a Nikon D80. My gf has one and loves it, makes great shots and what not. I don't like the controls, it seems a very confusing UI for a camera. She has a few nice lenses and I love the look and feel and AMAZING shots this thing makes. Hmm.... Debate 1.
But then I look at the Canon 40D. Same sort of deal as the D80, a little bigger, better menus, self-cleaning sensor but uses CF cards.. (I have stacks of SDs)
If I were to get a D80, we could trade lenses and stuff, but then I have a lesser UI. If I buy a Canon, it's a different game, I get a self-cleaning system but can't share lenses and have a better UI. Or I can go back to the G9 and call it good.
I ride a lot and I carry my camera a lot. I hear from people that carrying an SLR is "different" and requires a lot more work than a small one... Figures.
But in reviewing all these toys I have to admit I am a perfectionist and I'd rather haul glass than compromise.