Options

Southern Africa

VoguesVogues Registered Users Posts: 25 Big grins
edited July 21, 2008 in Journeys
I recently got back from Southern Africa (Botswana and South Africa). I went on safari and got some great shots I wanted to share. This is my first time posting in here so comment and critique but be nice please.

These were primarily taken on safari in the Okavango Delta region of Botswana. I went on safari with my family and we went to three different campgrounds. This first set is from a camp called Savuti. We came upon 4 lions at this zebra kill and I loved getting the gory shots of them eating. The lioness doesn't have a name but the male is known as Silver Eye because of his...well, silver eye. (cataract, perhaps?). Silver Eye was wiped out because he was mating the female. Lions do 'it' every 15 minutes for THREE days to fully fertilize the lioness.

335004817_mCCmP-S.jpg

335004630_72VEq-S.jpg

This is still at Savuti camp. The warthogs were quite charming and this is a mother and child. The normally have no more than 3 babies but she had four!
335004740_ZdoZK-S.jpg

Still at Savuti we came across this elephant. We had some much better elephant sightings but my heart went out to this bull. He was really old, probably around 50 and had left the herd and was essentially waiting to die. Elephants rarely die of old age. They have 6 sets of teeth (as opposed to our two) and once they make it though those 6 sets they will die of starvation.
335004870_tsV97-S.jpg

This is a lion track on the shores of Kwetsani Camp actually in the delta. I took it after riding in the regions indiginous boat called a mokoro (sp?). Kind of like an African gondola.
335005355_aJ66i-S.jpg

and finally a lion at Chitabi camp surveying the area for his girlfriend. He was hungry and wanted to go fetch her to hunt for him. She was hiding from him in the grass. Typical men ;)
335005287_yNwAz-S.jpg