Newbie shots from Sebring

DravenGSXDravenGSX Registered Users Posts: 7 Beginner grinner
edited April 5, 2004 in Technique
I am new to photography and looking for advice. These photos are from the 12 Hours of Sebring this year. They were taken with a Kodak DX6340 p&s without any type of credentials to get closer to the action. Here are what I think are the 5 best. The entire gallery can be found here: http://dravengsx.smugmug.com/gallery/87543/1 .. Thanks in advance for any positive criticism.

3056596-S.jpg

3056657-S.jpg

3056663-S.jpg

3056668-S.jpg

3056761-S.jpg

Comments

• cletuscletus Registered Users Posts: 1,930 Major grins
    edited March 29, 2004
    DravenGSX wrote:
    Thanks in advance for any positive criticism.
    What... no thanks in advance for negative criticism???:D

All of the shots are good. All of them seem to be spot on for focus and exposure.

Nice pan work with the first image thumb.gif

I really like the second shot. I think that the picture would work better with the legs on the right side either completely in the image or completely out. Having them against the right edge of the frame distracts from an otherwise very good composition.

Similar comments for the third image. A slight move to your left as you took the image would have kept the nose of the second car out of the frame. However, I think including more of the second car, specifically trying to get more of the wheel in would have created a repetition of shapes that would make the compistion stonger.

The fourth picture is probably my favorite. It would be nice if the objects in the background weren't there, but sometimes you cant get around those things.

I like the fifth image but for some reason it doesn't grab my eye the way the first four do. ne_nau.gif

Nice work! Hope you had fun shooting them.

-Eric
  • wxwaxwxwax Registered Users Posts: 15,471 Major grins
    edited March 30, 2004