Options

Photoshop workflow when using Smugmug for printing?

kpoorekpoore Registered Users Posts: 15 Big grins
edited September 13, 2008 in Finishing School
Hi,
I am probably making this harder than it is, BUT

I am studying workflow for processing an image and currently use Photoshop and looking at Bibble ...

I understand when submitting a image to Smugmug that "auto color" is recommended (for most) and that brings to mind what other processing is done? I am looking at a 15 step workflow which has color correction as step four after Image Capture, Rough Crop & Straighten and Spotting.
So if color correction is bascially the first adjustment then does your online processing do auto processing for contrast, density and saturation? I assume that the final shapening is done too with a generic amount. Can we determine per image how much sharpening is needed?

I suppose after getting an image back from you that you could make adjustments and resubmit it. Can you submit an image with instructions to just print it and nothing else?

As far as I can tell, I can spot, crop, size in photoshop at home and I have to convert to SRGB 8 bit. Can I apply filters, special effects?

As you can tell I know a little about all of this (a little knowledge is dangerous) and want to know more on how to do I good image.
I just got a Epson 1900 that I am playing around with too.

I am overwhelmed ... I know a step at a time! (-:

Are you guys going to ever offer a wider selection (than matte, gloss and luster) of papers, art papers in the future?

Okay, I guess I should stop now ... thanks for your time,

Karen in Austin, Texas :bow

Comments

• Options
    crockettcrockett Registered Users Posts: 180 Major grins
    edited August 15, 2008
    You do ask a whole lot here and I'm sure others will chime in with some helpful links and suggestions.
    I don't have any links but as I grow, I'll give you a few lessons that I've learned and are helpful to me.