Options

Some advice for intrusive guest

JasonLJasonL Registered Users Posts: 152 Major grins
edited August 28, 2008 in Weddings
Hey guys, I am new to doing weddings. I just did my 2nd one.....I was not the main photographer, I was hired basicallay freelance. The one question I have is this. There was a lady at the wedding who was a guest who had her D SLR setup all ready and everytime there was a photo opp such as cake cutting, entrances etc.... She jumped right in front of the 2 of us and the video guy a few times, and basically would not move as we tried to squeeze in to get the good shots. I finally said to her in a nice way

"excuse me Ms. I am sure that the bride and groom are extremely happy that you are taking some great shots for them, but they did hire us and we are trying to get the best pictures for them so they can put their album together. Feel free to jump in after us to grab the shot but we really need clear access for the important photos"

She was kinda pissed off after that, but.....was I wrong? Is there a proper way to go about this? Some advise needed, thanks everyone.
So many toy's not enough money !

Nikon D300s. Nikon D40, Nikon FE, Nikon F
Ansco Ancoset Rangefinder, Rolleiflex TLR Sb800, sb400

Nikon 18-200 VR, nikon 18-55 II, Sigma 10 20 HSM, 50mm f1.8 ai-s, 50mm Non Ai f1.4

Comments

• Options
    MnemosyneMnemosyne Registered Users Posts: 251 Major grins
    edited August 25, 2008
    My little cousin got married recently, and most of our family is into photo. But they knew I'd be bringing my camera, and the bride was perfectly happy about it.

But fortunately, I was aware there would be professionals there, and I tried as much as I could to stay out of their way. I walked around them, behind them, and waited for them to stop shooting before I crossed in front of them.