Options

Glass Wishlist, Suggestions/Recommendations? :)

Photo JoePhoto Joe Registered Users Posts: 54 Big grins
edited September 4, 2008 in Cameras
So I’m fairly new to the whole DSLR realm, but was able to pick up an XSi earlier this summer, and have been loving it thus far. I’ve definitely got a lot to learn, but its been nothing but fun so far. Right now I’m using two fairly cheap/bottom of the line Canon lens, and am looking to upgrade in the future. I’m living in Alaska, and doing a lot of hiking and climbing, so I’ve got my eye on a wide angle lens for panoramic and scenic shots, as well as a telephoto zoom lens for wildlife. I also wouldn’t mind picking up an average day-to-day lens that would be versatile for various other things.

While I’ve only briefly looked at 3rd party lenses, I work at a computer store that sells canon products as well, so I can get lenses at cost, and thus have only seriously looked at theirs.

Here’s what I use now:
EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS
EF-S 55-250mm f/4-5.6 IS

Telephoto Options:
EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM

Wide Angle Options:
EF 28mm f/1.8 USM
EF 20mm f/2.8 USM
EF 17-40mm f/4L USM (Though probably a bit pricy for me at this point)

Day to Day Lens:
EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM

So thats what I’ve been looking at so far, I was hoping for a little feedback or suggestions by anyone who’s either used those lenses, or might recommend something else. Also, on a slightly different note, does glass hold a fairly good resell value when it comes to buying new pieces and selling what I’ve got now? Any good resources for that, or buying used lenses at a discounted price?

Thanks for any advice someone can offer!
Equipment:
Canon - 40D, 24-105mm f/4 L
Sigma - 10-20mm f/4-5.6, 150mm f/2.8 Macro, 50mm f/1.4
Other - Canon Speedlite 430EX II

Comments

• Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,849 moderator
    edited August 30, 2008
    For a crop 1.6x Canon camera, I really recommend looking at: