Options

Help I'm brand new to photography

photomomof5photomomof5 Registered Users Posts: 3 Beginner grinner
edited September 8, 2008 in Technique
I'm brand new to photography outside of taking pictures of my kids. I'm thinking of doing this professionally and probably should start by taking some classes, but in the meantime, I need to know about lighting and what is necessary for indoor shots. I don't understand the difference between soft boxes and light stands w/umbrellas. Or the difference between flash or continuous. Can anyone help me with this?

Comments

• Options
    EarthDogEarthDog Registered Users Posts: 123 Major grins
    edited September 5, 2008
    I'm brand new to photography outside of taking pictures of my kids. I'm thinking of doing this professionally and probably should start by taking some classes, but in the meantime, I need to know about lighting and what is necessary for indoor shots. I don't understand the difference between soft boxes and light stands w/umbrellas. Or the difference between flash or continuous. Can anyone help me with this?

That's extremely ambitious, considering your background, so be prepared to work hard at educating yourself about not only photography, but also marketing, advertising, contracts, liability, and all the other aspects of running a business. I hope you live in a town with a good library, because you've got a ton of reading ahead of you.

To answer your immediate questions, though, a softbox shines the light through a membrane onto the subject, whereas an umbrella reflects the light directly onto the subject. So, the softbox's light is filtered (softer), while the umbrella's isn't (crisper). Eventually, you're likely to want both, if you're going to be doing studio portraiture.