Options

The Prisoner

ZarathustraZarathustra Registered Users Posts: 92 Big grins
edited September 22, 2008 in Go Figure
370056005_vtJeb-L.jpg

I'm just looking for some feedback on this one but I'm not sure that it is worthy of the Whipping Post. Thanks in advance for the critiques!

Comments

• Options
    PattiPatti Registered Users Posts: 1,576 Major grins
    edited September 17, 2008
    I like it a lot. I'm a novice but I think I'd like a bit more light/contrast. what was your lighting setup?
    The use of a camera is similar to that of a knife. You can use it to peel potatoes, or carve a flute. ~ E. Kahlmeyer
    ... I'm still peeling potatoes.

patti hinton photography
  • Options
    Moogle PepperMoogle Pepper Registered Users Posts: 2,950 Major grins
    I am not sure I see him as a prisoner. Or of even to his mind. ne_nau.gif I kinda see him in between a canonball into the water.

Firstly that wart or black head on his left arm is pretty distracting. I think if you were going for a prisoner of his mind, maybe have him show some facial agony.

+1 with a more drastic lighting!

Good concept though! thumb.gif
    Food & Culture.
    www.tednghiem.com
  • Options
    Thanks Patti. The lighting setup was a single EX150 strobe upper camera left through a softbox. I was trying to capture a portrait of depression so that is why I underexposed it and left it as gray as possible.
  • Options
    Hey Moogle Peeper. Thanks for the criticism. The mole on the arm probably could have been shopped out if I'd taken the time to. It didn't really pop out at me as something that needed to be done but I can definitely see how it could be distracting to some. As for the pose looking like a cannon ball, I can see that too. I was going more for fetal position. As I said, I wanted to do a portrait of depression which is a very self-centered, inward facing disorder so I did not want to show the face at all.
  • Options