Options

??????? Stats

aLoha TimaLoha Tim Registered Users Posts: 28 Big grins
edited September 25, 2008 in SmugMug Support
I've been using Google Analytics for several months now. One thing I'm certain of is the numbers on my Smugmug stats page bears no resemblance to what I see on Google Analytics.

For instance I've noticed Galleries I've put into a community generate no stats on my Google Analytics. This is disappointing because I'd like to know where in the world I'm getting my visitors. :dunno

Then there's the discrepancy I find on my Smugmug stats page. So far this month 10087 photos have been "viewed". However, on the details page, if I just take the totals for Small,Medium,Large,XLarge,X2,X3and Original. That total is 12124.:dunno

Google Analytics tells me I've had 3617 Pageviews.:scratch
I can appreciate some discrpancy in the numbers but this is a bit much.

Smugmug can't do anything about how Analytics counts things but I'd like to see more accurate numbers from Smugmug.

http://pa-iki-i.smugmug.com/

Comments

• Options
    chuckinsocalchuckinsocal Registered Users Posts: 932 Major grins
    edited September 18, 2008
    JMHO but I don't think SmugMug stats are very reliable and Google Analytics is a little to complex for my needs. You may want to try StatCounter. It's free and easy to use and you can see exactly where your visitors are coming from right down to the city they live in and exactly how they got to your site.

Again, JMHO.
    Chuck Cannova
    www.socalimages.com

Artistically & Creatively Challenged
  • Options
    Smug EricSmug Eric Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 333
    edited September 18, 2008
    Hey Tim, the problem is an ajax discrepancy between what SmugMug counts as a view and what Analytic does.
    Analytics will count a pageview as 1 even if the person looks at your whole gallery. It just depends on how they are going through it. So if they hit the next button all through the gallery it will come up as one page view.