Options

Custom Hostname

jowillejowille Registered Users Posts: 6 Beginner grinner
edited April 19, 2005 in SmugMug Support
I just purchased a professional account and obtained a domain thru GoDaddy. I have set it per the instructions on the smugmug help and if I type in my url;

jowillephoto.com

it will take me to my smugmug site. But, if I type in www.jowillephoto.com I get a message saying that it cannot find the DNS. It does this in Firefox and Internet explorer. In my account settings on smugmug I have typed in www.jowillephoto.com. Am I missing something obvious? Sorry if this is too simple, but I am a newbie at this.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Bill

Comments

• Options
    SystemSystem Registered Users Posts: 8,186 moderator
    edited April 10, 2005
    jowille wrote:
    I just purchased a professional account and obtained a domain thru GoDaddy. I have set it per the instructions on the smugmug help and if I type in my url;

jowillephoto.com

it will take me to my smugmug site. But, if I type in www.jowillephoto.com I get a message saying that it cannot find the DNS. It does this in Firefox and Internet explorer. In my account settings on smugmug I have typed in www.jowillephoto.com. Am I missing something obvious? Sorry if this is too simple, but I am a newbie at this.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Bill
    It takes a while for full propagation around the net to take place. I can see your site from here using that url, but it is possibly not everyone can yet. It usually takes somewhere between 12-48 hours or so for this prpagation to be completed. Once this is done you should be able to see your site from everywhere.

This sounds like your situation and I hope this helps.
    Cheers

-don
  • Options
    edited April 10, 2005
    Thanks Don,

Are you seeing it with www.jowillephoto.net? I'll give it time and see what happens.

Thanks,

Bill
  • Options
    rainforest1155rainforest1155 Registered Users Posts: 4,566 Major grins