Options

San Jose Sharks - opening night

JzazziJzazzi Registered Users Posts: 111 Major grins
edited October 23, 2008 in Sports
Opening night at The Tank, the San Jose Sharks hockey team host the Los Angeles Kings for a great game. We won at 4-1 and put on quite a show!

This is my first year with a media pass for the Tank and first lesson learned: one must plan in advance to get time shooting through the holes in the glass at ice level. Nevertheless, I took full advantage and climbed up into the catwalks for the opening sequence. If you've never seen this before, it's a real treat.

There are huge video projectors hanging above the ice which turns the entire ice rink into a gargantuan video screen. The effect is awesome, and I don't use the word lightly. I heard there would be a helluva show before the opening faceoff and I should be "up high by 7:15pm". Wait a minute ... I should climb up into the rafters to take epic photos of the opening Sharks game? Hell yeah! So, here are some shots of the night.

Critique and comments welcome.

2940236135_102989c060_o.jpg

Video projectors in action. More frames can be seen here.

2941091436_b8a23d7b04.jpg

I couldn't enjoy this overhead view enough. The catwalks are amazing.

2941091926_655416b7ae.jpg

The new coach emphasizing we should finish checks into the boards. Big thanks to April and others on the boards to suggest 500-800+ shutter speeds!

2941092200_596bc8f546.jpg

High sticking! I know a bit too small to see details here but it looks great full size.

2941094236_94fe83243c_o.jpg

Not sure how to crop this one actually. If I move in closer on our number 14 in the lower-left, it feels like he is loosing his mind and cheering for nothing. I believe leaving the rest of the shot intact it gives him a reason to be so excited (scored his 2nd goal of the game). What do you think?

2941095620_221a1f50d2.jpg