Question about my job...

rgbivensrgbivens Registered Users Posts: 163 Major grins
edited October 22, 2008 in Mind Your Own Business
Ok, so here is the skinny...

I just started my job at an IT Solutions company where I build websites. I am currently on a hourly pay rate for the first 90 days then I will be evaluated and given a salary.

The company is really growing and they are starting to do more jobs and some of them are starting to require photography. Their current process is to recommend a pro photographer and the client pays the photographer (how much I do not know). They just found out that I'm a decent photographer and want to give me a go at handling the photography. I was down for it until they said something along the lines of 'I'll be on the clock' meaning I'll just get paid my hourly rate for the job I signed a contract for.

Now don't get me wrong, I don't get paid in skittles by any means but I think that I would be taken advantage of if they didn't compensate me in any other way. I will be using my own gear so that is another factor to consider. Another thing is who would hold the copyright? I would be the photographer but they would be employing me to shoot yet the client would own the content and use it on their website...how crazy is that???

What do you think would be acceptable on my and their parts? Please examine this question when thinking about compensation, use of my equipment, and copyright holdings.

Thanks,
-GB
Cameras: Nikon D200 w/grip, Nikon D70, Samsung NV11
Lenses: Nikkor 50mm f/1.8, Nikkor 17-80mm f/3.5-4, Nikkor 70-300mm f/3.5-5.6, Lensbaby 2.0
Accessories: Nikon SB-800, (2X) Old Flash Units, (4X) Poverty Wizards, GF Lightsphere, (3X) Lightstand and umbrella, Sandisk Extreme III 4.0 GB, Sandisk Ultra II 2.0 GB, Transcend 1.0 GB

Comments

• Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited October 22, 2008
    rgbivens wrote: