Options

New 50D - A Couple of Quick Questions

RxRickRxRick Registered Users Posts: 93 Big grins
edited November 5, 2008 in Cameras
I've had it for two weeks now and I'm upgrading from a five-year-old Digital Rebel, so this is a big improvement. I'm using the lens that came with it, a 28-135 IS (my first IS lens). I'm a typical hobbyist, shooting mostly in jpeg and mostly on the basic settings. I'm reading about RAW and want to do more of that, but it's mostly family shots and sports. Even though I've been using older equipment, I take a LOT of photographs.

I've taken a few shots around the neighborhood like my daughter's softball team, where the 6.3 fps comes in handy

408209955_PbJsA-L.jpg
408210118_GaEfL-L.jpg

408228107_6kUVw-L.jpg
408228771_D5VTw-L.jpg
408229547_HLYRf-L.jpg
408230106_k6WQt-L.jpg
408230691_5SLJq-L.jpg

I've also taken some shots around the neighborhood at sunset and the low light capabilities are terrific. The egret was shot at 1/10th shutter speed at 1600 ISO.

405286831_QMo3d-L.jpg
397992335_epXsJ-L.jpg
397990386_zy7yS-L.jpg
405283622_UZDSy-L.jpg

The shot of the kid might have been decent had it been in focus, which brings me to my first question - the shots don't always seem that sharp. I've read where autofocus can be off and that lenses can be adjusted, but shouldn't a new camera be a little better than this? My other question has to do with the file numbers. The first photo I downloaded was file #4508. I went back and checked and my old camera started on #0001. Does Canon now start numbering differently? Or did I get a camera with 4500 shutter activations on it? In other words, did I get a camera that might have already been returned? What do you'all think?

--RxRick

Comments

• Options
    billtaichibilltaichi Registered Users Posts: 75 Big grins
    edited November 3, 2008