Options

Need Help - Shuttle Night Launch

gavelbangergavelbanger Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
edited November 16, 2008 in Technique
I am going to the next shuttle launch which will be a night launch. I will have a Nikon D70 with a 80-400 VR lens. I plan to set to manual, manual focus, ASA 1000, shutter speed at 1/1000, F8. Camera to be set in Mode IIIa. Any serious flaws? With the shutter speed at 1/000 and the VR can I get away with a monopod or hand support. Any advice or support you can give will be greatly appreciated as I am a newbie to this hobby. Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    ChrisJChrisJ Registered Users Posts: 2,164 Major grins
    edited October 17, 2006
    I am going to the next shuttle launch which will be a night launch.
    I wish I had digital when I shot the last night launch. I missed shooting the most imporant part of the launch because my remote failed and I was busy actually watching. I had 400 ASA film, manually focused, and I think I had the aperature wide open (f/5.6). Shutter speed??? Just don't remember... my lens was a low quality 100-300 zoom, which was definitely too short.

It is VERY bright, and when the steam cloud starts up, and the shuttle seems to creep upward. Picks up speed rapidly, though!

This shot is a composite, scanned from film (since I missed the shuttle in the air in frame).
    29872969-M.jpg
    Chris
  • Options
    DJ-S1DJ-S1 Registered Users Posts: 2,303 Major grins
    edited October 17, 2006
    Hey Judge, no advice from me but make sure to post your results, we'd love to see 'em. And keep an eye out for stuff like this:

[FONT=VERDANA, ARIAL, HELVETICA, SANS-SERIF]Space shuttle launch schedule gets a makeover[/FONT]

It says in part