Options

Studio Lighting Attempt to Learn

ZanottiZanotti Registered Users Posts: 1,411 Major grins
edited November 25, 2008 in People
I have been carefully reading all the help here and on strobist's blog on indoor lighting. I am trying to improve and have a few shots for comment.

It is the purpose of life that each of us strives to become actually what he is potentially. We should be obsessed with stretching towards that goal through the world we inhabit.

Comments

• Options
    Matt336Matt336 Registered Users Posts: 303 Major grins
    edited November 23, 2008
    I'm no pro but these look fantastic to me! Yes, the second one does need a little work but you already know that. One nit pick is the wrinkles in the black background are slightly distracting to me.
  • Options
    PixNWPixNW Registered Users Posts: 141 Major grins
    edited November 23, 2008
    I especially like #1. Good catchlights and enough shadow on the face for a little drama. Nicely done.
    Canon 1D Mark IIN
    Canon 350D
    24-70 2.8L
    70-200 2.8L IS
    580EX II
    1.4x Extender
    Gitzo 3531 w/ RRS BH-55 Ballhead
    RRS L-Plate, quick release clamp and plates
  • Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,698 moderator
    edited November 23, 2008
    HI George

it helps a lot if your models are 4-8 feet in front of your background, to separate the lighting on the subject from the light on the background, but this is hard to obtain in most home studios where space is limited.

When using umbrellas or softboxes, the closer they are to the subject, the softer, the rounder the light. Shooting through a white umbrella is a way to get soft light also.

Nice job overall.
    Pathfinder - www.pathfinder.smugmug.com

Moderator of the Technique Forum and Finishing School on Dgrin
  • Options
    NikolaiNikolai Registered Users Posts: 19,035 Major grins
    edited November 24, 2008
    Very good start! thumb.gif