Options

Desktop vs laptop and Mac vs pc

wats005wats005 Registered Users Posts: 42 Big grins
edited December 18, 2008 in Digital Darkroom
I know I am opening a can of worms here but I need to make a purchase soon and it will be my first one based on camera needs, not to mention i have little to no clue with computers. Lets just say i am a beginner in the digital world all around. I just bought my first DSLR - Canon's 50d

So first off- for my first "working with files" computer is it better to have a desktop or laptop. I have heard desktops go faster, but I also travel often enough to make looking at a laptop a consideration.

Secondly- Mac or PC? Every photog I know seems to have Mac, but my IT people seem to think that mac people are paying preimum prices for year old technology (not my statement- remember the "I have no clue with computers" mentioned above)

SO let me have it....where do I start?:dunno
Erica

Still Learning.......

Comments

• Options
    colourboxcolourbox Registered Users Posts: 2,095 Major grins
    edited December 12, 2008
    If you require portability - well, you kinda have to get a laptop, but it has to be a good one, with lots of RAM, a big disk, and something faster than USB 2 for external drives or Photoshop scratch drive

If you don't require portability - you'll save a ton of money with a desktop instead of a laptop.

(I own both. To cope with the cost, I buy a laptop, then a desktop a couple years later, and leapfrog the upgrades.)

If you want to concentrate on photography instead of playing with the computer - get a Mac.

If you don't mind working on computers - get a PC, you'll spend less money. (I use a Mac)

The Mac PC price difference is with the main computer itself. After that, the drives and RAM are about the same now, so the more you soup it up, the less the difference in cost. Also if you hold onto your Mac longer than a PC, which many do without a problem, the cost difference is even less.
  • Options