Options

First attempts at still life photography

work2fishwork2fish Registered Users Posts: 84 Big grins
edited December 25, 2008 in Technique
I'm trying to learn about still life photography. I inherited some of my father's lighting and flash equipment but I am not experienced at all in using it. When taking these shots, I was also very surprised at the shallow depth of field I got at f4.0. In any event, here is my first attempt at a still life image.

435890927ebrhoxlcq7.jpg

Any suggestions for improving it?

Regards,
Mike

Comments

• Options
    QarikQarik Registered Users Posts: 4,959 Major grins
    edited December 16, 2008
    hmm..well speaking from composition point of view I feel the objects are too spread out. imo if you clustered the wine bottle, glass, cheese etc then it give the picture more depth and interest. This is also has to do with your angle of shot..instead of straight on, which gives it a flat look, try more elavation.

Finally the lighitng is very flat. There are no interesting shadows, highlights, low lights, etc. Try spot lighting form one side ot the other.
    D700, D600
    14-24 24-70 70-200mm (vr2)
    85 and 50 1.4
    45 PC and sb910 x2
    http://www.danielkimphotography.com
  • Options
    Candid ArtsCandid Arts Registered Users Posts: 1,685 Major grins
    edited December 16, 2008
    I pretty much agree. Stack some of the objects in front and behind others. Use some more direct lighting. This photo needs depth. Shoot not from center, but from side to side, or higher elevation like previously stated. Rotate the camera a little bit, horizontal and vertical aren't always the best way, the camera still works at a 45* angle, or anything else between flat and straight up. Nice connection between subject matter, the composition and lighting and angle of shot just seem very flat. Keep working at it though. just keep taking pictures. I've got about 8500 clicks on my 2 month old camera...
  • Options
    edited December 16, 2008