Options

What in the world!! Focus problem

GemGemGemGem Registered Users Posts: 355 Major grins
edited December 20, 2008 in Technique
Hi!

I have to start by saying, I am pretty new in the business of photography. Knock on wood, my customers are always happy and I keep getting referrals... HOWEVER.. Lately, it has been tricky, not sure why. (lately, I have been getting couples gigs and I usually photograph children.. anyway..

Let's start with today. I did a shoot of two sisters. They wanted an evening session. I explained I do not have the lighting equipment, just a flash and that the pics my turn out just ok. They still went ahead and booked me. I do not know what was wrong with my focus today.. I know the lighting was bad, but focus!??
I had it on spot, then changed it to matrix, then changed the setting to the portrait preset on the camera.. I was trying a different setting each time we changed location. Now, at home I think..hmm.. maybe I should have changed it to manual, select my shutter and aperture, then compensate with the flash.. yea.. now.. I think that.. but would have have helped.....?? ugh.. I am so very much confused peeps..

Thank you for listening!
GG

Sooo... with an fstop range of 5.6-7 i still didn't get sharp pictures of both of them. One sister will be focused, the other out of focus even after I selected spot and choose the the focus to be their faces.

Anyway.. there are so many out of focus ones... I just don't know which one to post!

But, please let's start with... what is the best focus setting for more than 2 people.

Comments

• Options
    AngeloAngelo Super Moderators Posts: 8,937 moderator
    edited December 19, 2008
    GG -

I moved your post over here since it's more of a "technique" question.

Good luck thumb.gif
  • Options
    Scott_QuierScott_Quier Registered Users Posts: 6,524 Major grins
    edited December 19, 2008