Options

Group shots and focus

Greyhound RickGreyhound Rick Registered Users Posts: 75 Big grins
edited December 27, 2008 in Technique
Other than shooting racing greyhounds I feel like Im brand new to photography so Im going to ask some very basic questions and Im sure I will learn a lot from you folks!

I took some candid shots tonight at our house of some family and just put my flash on my D3 and started walking around and shooting. Here was my set up:

SB-800 set to TTL-BL
SS 1/200
ISO 400
Aperture between 7-13
Single servo
Single shot shutter mode
Single point focus
Active D Lighting normal
Matrix metering
Focus only shutter release
RAW
M exposure
Picture Control standard with sharpness set to "5"

While shooting my images I noticed something right off the bat that I really havent dealt with before. When I was shooting say, 4 or 5 people sitting together at the table or on the couch, the person that I focused on was very sharp. Most of the time the person next to them was sharp also, but as I looked at others I noticed the focus was not spot on.

I used my D3, 70-200mm lens with VR on. I was handholding the camera.

I understand that DOF can be calculated but honestly, I was expecting in a group shot that everyone would be in focus at an aperture of 7-13, however that was not the case in some instances.

I would describe the focus as OK with some of the people not focused on with the focal point, but not spot on dead, solid perfect.

Is this normal or is my technique causing me to miss something here?I would assume that since the subject Im aimed at is focused very well that maybe i cant expect everyone in the shot to be perfectly focused as well.

Also, would going to 21 pt., or 51pt. be a better way to shoot muliple subjects especially while walking around?

Thanks for your help and guidance. I feel like Im starting over!!

take care,

Rick
Make a fast friend. Adopt a greyhound!!

Comments

• Options
    edited December 25, 2008