Options

Free Screen capture program (Mac and WIN)

CheekygeekCheekygeek Registered Users Posts: 20 Big grins
edited July 19, 2008 in Finishing School
Newbie here, so if this is not in the best place feel free to move it.

I've seen some people confused on how to do screen caps to show their workflow (etc.). I did a search and it seems that no one has mentioned Jing Project here yet, so I'm going to. It's a wonderful, easy to use program and can also record up to 5 minutes of video (in addition to image screen capture). Images are PNG and video is SWF.

Get it at: http://www.jingproject.com
(no affiliation, just a happy user)
My opinions are free. And worth every penny.

Comments

• Options
    gusgus Registered Users Posts: 16,209 Major grins
    edited July 18, 2008
    Being a new (ish) mac user i must ask...how is this different to pressing shift>cmd>3 ?

Maybe the video ??
  • Options
    edited July 18, 2008
    jingsample.png

And then, there's the video/screencast capability (but only 5 min.) and last time I checked, no sound.

gus wrote:
    Being a new (ish) mac user i must ask...how is this different to pressing shift>cmd>3 ?

Maybe the video ??
  • Options
    gusgus Registered Users Posts: 16,209 Major grins
    edited July 18, 2008
    Hmm....i just tried it but its now in my rubbish bin. I can do all that & a lot more in CS3 which is pretty well permanently running on my comp. Tks anyway.
  • Options
    RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,933 moderator
    edited July 19, 2008
    Cheekygeek wrote:
    Newbie here, so if this is not in the best place feel free to move it.

I've seen some people confused on how to do screen caps to show their workflow (etc.). I did a search and it seems that no one has mentioned Jing Project here yet, so I'm going to. It's a wonderful, easy to use program and can also record up to 5 minutes of video (in addition to image screen capture). Images are PNG and video is SWF.