Options

Keeping space down and quality up

TZZDCTZZDC Registered Users Posts: 23 Big grins
edited July 25, 2008 in SmugMug Pro Sales Support
I've been using SmugMug for nearly 2 years now and my images take up over 9gb of space, realizing that this is a cost issue for smugmug as with everything else in life that costs $ I'm looking for ways to keep images as small as possible but having clients be able to order up to poster size. I've toyed around with keeping the images web sized but I realized that clients can only order 4x6 prints. So if I wanted to keep images from a 1D Mk II and 5D at the same pixel size but lets say use jpeg quality of 20-30% would that work?

I want the images to look great downsized on here for when people order but use the proof delay to slip in a 100% jpeg before the order. 9GB I realize is a lot and even with 60% jpeg its still a lot.

Anyone else have any other tips as I cant really remove any older galleries.
Gear:
Canon EOS 1D Mk IIN & 5D | 17-40 f/4L | 24-70 f/2.8L | 70-200 f/2.8L IS
www.polskiobscura.com

Comments

• Options
    cmasoncmason Registered Users Posts: 2,506 Major grins
    edited July 22, 2008
    Why are you worried about file size? headscratch.gif Smugmug doesn't give us limits. I upload 90% Jpegs. full size, and Smugmug automatically creates the other sizes = no work for me.

I would not worry about Smugmug's business or capacity, if it was a concern and/or if it were a factor, we would be paying for it, I have no doubt.
  • Options
    TZZDCTZZDC Registered Users Posts: 23 Big grins
    edited July 23, 2008
    I guess because at some point someone at Amazon or SmugMug will figure out that space as abundant as it is will start charging for it (similar to what ISP's are doing advertising unlimited usage but now in their policy its capped).

I guess seeing 9GB worth of photos online just encourages me to make better use of the space since there's 15-20 concerts a year x 2 years so far and more to come.
    Gear: