Options

Newbie question: What makes a quality high end lens?

robscomputerrobscomputer Registered Users Posts: 326 Major grins
edited April 24, 2005 in Cameras
Hi,

I'm still new to the high end lens and wanted to know what really makes a Canon L lens high quality. I have heard they have better dust seals for professional use, also higher quality coatings on the glass. Anything else I am missing? I also read they weigh much more than regular lens, is there more elements in a L lens?

What brought up this is my friend picked up a Nikon lens, I think 17-35 f/2.8 that is very heavy and big, I think with a 77mm filter? The lens is about twice as heavy as the regular 17-35 zoom and wonder how they differ in construction.

Guess i'm trying to justify spending money on them when the time comes. :)

Thanks,
Rob
Enjoying photography since 1980.

Comments

• Options
    ubergeekubergeek Registered Users Posts: 99 Big grins
    edited April 22, 2005
    L differences
    Relative to non-L Canon lenses, the L's have

• Ultra-low Dispersion (UD) glass and/or Flourite elements
    • more rugged, sealed construction
    • generally larger apertures
    • a pretty red ring around the barrel :D
    The reason that L's are generally heavier than non-L's of similar focal lengths is partly because of the more rugged construction, but probably mostly due to the larger apertures. An f/2.8 lens lets in twice as much light as an f/4, which doesn't necessarily mean twice as much glass, but it definitely means more glass, and consequently more weight.