First timer sharing some kid shots

divamumdivamum Registered Users Posts: 9,021 Major grins
edited August 6, 2008 in People
I've been trying to get up the nerve to post something for a while, but this is scary! That said, C&C definitely welcomed (you'll see I have lots of questions!), but remember it's my first time.... :wink

About me: started w/a Pentax ME Super as a teenager so I could take pictures of my equestrian friends, but never took any classes or learned any real technique - let the camera do most of the work. Last year made the jump from a digital P&S+ Elan 35mm to a dSLR and am loving every moment with it.... although I'm still pretty clueless technique-wise! Have acquired just enough knowledge to know I'm ignorant, and am just trying to learn, learn, learn.

These were taken at a party last weekend. Rebel XT w/50mm 1.8 or 55-250is, natural light (adding fill flash was impractical, even where it would have been photographically helpful!). I'm also just starting to try doing more in post than merely cropping and adjusting contrast; thanks to this forum I have now found noiseware, and am playing around with that, too. Learning curve in all things!

I see so much that is wrong with this one, but I keep coming back to it again and again. I see the oddly placed patch of light (is there a way to post process that out without much ado?), the child's non-smiling expression, the cropping of her head (that was the way it was shot - I haven't cropped it at all in post) but I can't figure out WHY it keeps speaking to me. Is it because I'm still seeing "the whole scene" around the shot, or I'm so enamoured with the IQ of the new 55-250 that my judgement is clouded? I've lost all perspective on this one, but I figure since I'm still thinking about it 3 days later, it's time to let other eyes have a look :)

babyglow_filtered.jpg

And this (pretty "standard issue" kid shot, but I like the way the lens has interpreted it)

bubbles2_filtered.jpg