Options

how to eliminate hot spots?

jungjung Registered Users Posts: 51 Big grins
edited August 16, 2008 in Technique
Hello I am a newbie to Digital Grin, but I am happy to be here and hope to learn and contribute to the community.

My question is how do you eliminate "hot spots" or bright lights in a photograph? This is important to me because I want to shoot Architectural photographs and more than likely there is going to be artifial lights on the building which create some problems from time to time.

1. Is this something that could be corrected through post processing or better exposure?

Thanks,

Jung
"let your eyes do the talking"

Comments

• Options
    pyrypyry Registered Users Posts: 1,733 Major grins
    edited August 10, 2008
    jung wrote:
    Hello I am a newbie to Digital Grin, but I am happy to be here and hope to learn and contribute to the community.

My question is how do you eliminate "hot spots" or bright lights in a photograph? This is important to me because I want to shoot Architectural photographs and more than likely there is going to be artifial lights on the building which create some problems from time to time.

1. Is this something that could be corrected through post processing or better exposure?

Thanks,

Jung

Shoot in raw first of all, that gives you maximum headroom in the highlights and shadows.

Postprocessing has it's limits, you can expose for the highlight, but you will then lose much the rest of the image, if the highlight is bright enough. There is however more information in the shadows than in the highlights. The sample you showed might be best served by shooting an HDR stack.

Hope this helps thumb.gif

And welcome to the forum! wave.gif
    Creativity's hard.

http://pyryekholm.kuvat.fi/
  • Options
    edited August 10, 2008
    pyry wrote:
    Shoot in raw first of all, that gives you maximum headroom in the highlights and shadows.