Exploring portraiture...

Tim KamppinenTim Kamppinen Registered Users Posts: 816 Major grins
edited August 26, 2008 in People
I have mainly been into landscapes the whole time I've been a photographer, as far as serious efforts go, but I've always enjoyed taking photos of people as well. Normally these were just candids, or concert photos which I do a fair amount of as well. Just lately, however, I've been looking to get more seriously into portraits, just for fun, although I wouldn't be opposed to doing it for profit if I became good at it. Anyway, here are two of my recent efforts, with which I am rather pleased. This is my friend and his daughter. Lighting consisted of a large window facing the sun with some sort of paper-like accordian blind lowered in front of it that served more or less as a large softbox. I shot these with an old manual focus Nikon 50mm 1.4 that I picked up on Ebay for $70. It can be a pain to focus when shooting people, but the depth of field options and sharpness are well worth the extra effort IMO. (I have a D40 so the 50mm 1.8 AF wasn't an option, or at least not a better one.) C&C welcome, tell me what you think!

354010193_nbKH3-L.jpg

354010036_JbAtx-L.jpg

Comments

• SystemSystem Registered Users Posts: 8,186 moderator
    edited August 18, 2008
    I think your lighting and DOF work great but you seem to hate their right ears because you have cropped most of them off in both frames! I would say crop a little wider and you'd have some great portraits.
  • ivarivar Registered Users Posts: 8,395 Major grins
    edited August 18, 2008
    Hi Tim,

I really like the lighting in the first shot :smo (I also think it is a great candidate for a black and white conversion.)
  • StuggiStuggi Registered Users Posts: 23 Big grins
    edited August 18, 2008
    Nice shots, you wouldn't happen to be Finnish by any chance? ^^
    Sebastian

Gear:
    Digital: Olympus E-520 with Zuiko Digital 14-42mm 1:3.5-5.6 and 40-150mm 1:4-5.6