Swimming Shots

DoWorkDoWork Registered Users Posts: 14 Big grins
edited August 22, 2008 in Sports
Took This Shot, I really Love It. Thought It would be nice to share it and to get some thoughts from everyone. Also I would like to get anyone with some other swimming shots to post em. I am interested in shooting some Longhorn Aquatics hosted meets in a couple of months and need all the practice and input I can get.

354876823_eGRaj-L.jpg
David A. Barney

Comments

• DoWorkDoWork Registered Users Posts: 14 Big grins
    edited August 20, 2008
    Another Shot
    354876317_RWFNu-L.jpg
    David A. Barney
  • Blaze Z BlazeBlaze Z Blaze Registered Users Posts: 79 Big grins
    edited August 20, 2008
    I like your first shot a lot. It would be cool if you got the other swimmers face in the shot. In competitions like swim meets, its good to see the competitors. Gives a since or urgency and/or determination. I am new to the game as well so post your pics up after the swim meet and help me learn as well!
  • johngjohng Registered Users Posts: 1,658 Major grins
    edited August 20, 2008
    Of the 2, the first is better. Second shot isn't sharp enough - guessing since it's the far lane you've just overcropped too much. The first is better, although it's a bit soft as well - again, action probably too far away for the focal length being used.
    On the plus side you've caught the face which is essential for most shots (though not all). But, the timing of the stroke is uninteresting. can't tell if it's freestyle or breast. A shot should either capture a great facial expression or at least a sharp face and good demonstration of the stroke.

I would suggest not trying to shoot across the width of the pool unless using at least a 300mm lens though.
    edited August 20, 2008
    Thanks and a question.