400mm Cannon f4 DO?

ruttrutt Registered Users Posts: 6,511 Major grins
edited April 21, 2004 in Cameras
Anyone have one of these? Do you use the 2x extender with it? Do you get good results?

Can anyone compare with Sigma long glass?
If not now, when?

Comments

• pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,703 moderator
    edited April 12, 2004
    rutt wrote:
    Anyone have one of these? Do you use the 2x extender with it? Do you get good results?

The picture of the snow geese with the bloody wing was shot with a 400mm DO and a 1.4x, and demonstrates how sharp that combination can be. I own and use a 2x as well, but I actually have not used the 2x with the 400 because I have not felt the need. You will definitely need a good heavy tripod and something like a Wimberly head to use the equivalent of a 1280 lens on a 10D. 400x2x1.6=1280mm I have no experience with the Sigma teles.

I would also be concerned that autofocus will not work on a 10D with a 2x exetender as your aperature is 2 stops smaller than the prime f4 or f8. And if I remember correctly the 10D requires f5.6 for autofocus to function. There is a kludge to disable autofocus being turned off - a piece of tape over 3 contacts on the lens/body electrical connection- but I decided not to go there. I think that information can be found in the forums at dpreview or Luminous Landscape.
    Although the 10D requires f5.6, I suspect the 1DMkll only requires f8.o - just a thought. But it would only be the equivalent 400x2x1.3=1040

Those long telephotos are like Cylla and Charibdis - they call to us and make us lust for them - but without a specific need - birds, wildlife - they really aren't used as much as a 28-75 zoom which I use a great deal. But for birds - you can't hardly do without them either. Bring your Visa card or what ever you useLaughing.gif
    Pathfinder - www.pathfinder.smugmug.com

Moderator of the Technique Forum and Finishing School on Dgrin