might be an old question - Nikon or Canon?

cmca2415cmca2415 Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
edited August 31, 2008 in Cameras
A friend and I are going to be taking a photography course in January. I've never owned a DSLR and would like to take the plunge. I'm not a professional but I absolutely LOVE taking photos, sometimes waiting for very long periods just watching my kids at the ready with my finger on the button. I would love to take more shots outdoors, I have a fondness for close-ups, but most of all I take tons of pics of my kids and our new puppy.

My husband has a tendency to spoil me at Christmas so I want to make sure I have plenty of say in what we buy when it comes to a camera.

I'm looking here for some advice as far as where to do my research and such.:dunno

much thanks!
:thumb

Comments

• swintonphotoswintonphoto Registered Users Posts: 1,664 Major grins
    edited August 27, 2008
    You really can't go wrong with any of the brands. They have all developed excellent products. My recommendation is to figure out what is most important to you. Size, price, features, etc.
    I will as always put a push for Olympus DSLR's. They are the most feature packed bang for the buck cameras in my opinion. They are also very good size - not too big.
    But really, you will be happy with whatever you choose.
  • jonh68jonh68 Registered Users Posts: 2,711 Major grins
    edited August 27, 2008
    Go to your local store and pick up the cameras you are interested in. Play around with the buttons and scroll the menus. Go with the one that feels best to you, and try other cameras besides Canon and Nikon. Any camera these days are going to give great results. Pick the one you feel the most comfortable with.

One thing about a DSLR though, is you are also buying into a system. Canon and Nikon have more to offer in this area.
  • RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,955 moderator
    edited August 27, 2008
    cmca2415 wrote: