Playing around

divamumdivamum Registered Users Posts: 9,021 Major grins
edited September 3, 2008 in People
My daughter and I were just goofing around in the yard yesterday afternoon. She mostly likes acting as a subject for me, but she was getting sick to death of me twiddling with settings and focus points and decided to run off until I "tricked" her into running back towards the deck (where I was standing).

Most of the shots are mediocre snapshots, but something about this one appealed to me despite that as it caught the "essence" of her personality. So, even though it was blurred (and those leaves are neither adding a very good frame nor croppable, darnit), I decided to twiddle with it in Paintshop. Bear in mind that I am VERY VERY new to any significant PP, and still at the "Gee, I wonder what happens if I click this?" stage of development, spending more time with the "undo" button than anything else (I'm trying to wrap my head around layers and I understand the *concept*, but I haven't quite figured out how one uses the actual software commands to achieve what I want). I did a filtered B&W conversion in Picasa (I also prefer their "add grain" selection as a 1-click way to noise it up) and the rest in Paintshop.

Anyway, here's what I started with:
IMG_9538.JPG

And I twiddled until I came up with this:
IMG_9538sframed.JPG

I keep wondering if I should add even more noise, and perhaps not boost the highlights on the face quite so much, but it's been an interesting experiment for learning what's possible!

C&C definitely welcomed - I'm trying to learn! These are "exercises", as far as I'm concerned, and any satisfying portraits I get out of it are a bonus :)

(PS I'm also working with a new monitor, so I'm adjusting to what I see - I may have misjudged some of the contrasts because of that. I need to get some prints done so I can better figure out how what I see onscreen realates to "reality"!)

Comments