Flash techniques; Eliminating the Carapace Burn/Overexposure?

l2oBiNl2oBiN Registered Users Posts: 180 Major grins
edited September 8, 2008 in Holy Macro
Hi all,

I have found that highly reflective surfaces such as carapaces from hoverflies tend to show a distinctive burning out/overexposure even with diffused flash.:scratch Has anyone come up with anything that oversomes this? A couple of examples?

Comments

• RobbugRobbug Registered Users Posts: 132 Major grins
    edited September 7, 2008
    I am no expert here, but if I recall correctly, diffuse flash works like a charm. I just did a DIY diffusing flash setup using the camera's built in flash and the lighting is quite nice. Try to soften the light.

Rob

Edit: maybe I should read the post more thoroughly next time. Disregard everything above :D Sorry about that. Maybe off axis flash?
    www.refractivephotos.com

The Holy Trinity of Photography - Light, Color, and Gesture
  • Lord VetinariLord Vetinari Registered Users Posts: 15,901 Major grins
    edited September 8, 2008
    It is a common problem. Good diffusion on a flash will help stop these reflective spots actually burning out but does not stop them being present. In natural light you can stop them a bit with a polariser but this does not really work with flash unless you polarise the flash as well and end up losing around 4 stops of light or more. see article here http://www.naturescapes.net/042004/wh0404.htm
    The only other way of at least reducing them with flash is to vary the flash/lens angle- ie alter the flash angle with respect to the subject and lens so bright reflections do not go straight back in the lens.
    As long as the bright spots are not too large and are not burned out I do not find them objectionable- they just tell you the subject is shiny. The double polarisation technique I mentioned above actually gives very unnatural looking shoots.

Example shot on a ladybird which has a bright reflection but it is not actually blown.