Lens question...

DeathToDigitalDeathToDigital Registered Users Posts: 24 Big grins
edited September 13, 2008 in Cameras
I've got the XSi and Im not totally set on what I want to be shooting, I just know it's going to be a wide range of different subjects, from people to plants and animals, street randomness, close ups and far away. So, I was thinking ... Since the XSi came with the 18-55mm, would it be a good idea to go and get the 55-250mm lens? The trouble Im having is deciding on those two over a 28-135mm & 75-300mm. I really love that 28-135mm that comes standard on the 40d but I dont want to be overlapping my focal lengths.

Keep in mind I am very new to photography, still honing my skills and figuring out my favorite subjects. I was just wondering what a better combo would be so, which do you think? 18-55mm & 55-250mm or 28-135 & 75-300mm?

All opinions greatly appreciated!

Comments

• Moogle PepperMoogle Pepper Registered Users Posts: 2,950 Major grins
    edited September 9, 2008
    I would sell off the kit lens and go with the 17-55 or 24-105 if you are going to do walk around shooting. Oh and welcome to Dgrin!
    Food & Culture.
    www.tednghiem.com
  • Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited September 9, 2008
    Welcome to DGRIN and if it were me I would sell the 18-55 and opt for a Sigma 17-70 f2.8-4.5 and either a Sigma or Canon 70-200f2.8 ....great lenses and sigmas of course cost way less than canon does and you may even find a great deal on Sigma lenses on Ebay.......I have in the past.........
    "Genuine Fractals was, is and will always be the best solution for enlarging digital photos." ....Vincent Versace ... ... COPYRIGHT YOUR WORK ONLINE ... ... My Website

• DeathToDigitalDeathToDigital Registered Users Posts: 24 Big grins
    edited September 9, 2008
    Thanks for the welcome guys! And uhm, what's the quality like on those Sigma lenses? How do they differ from Canon?