OK, Now I'm Hooked but Need Advice!

slpollettslpollett Registered Users Posts: 1,215 Major grins
edited September 14, 2008 in The Dgrin Challenges
Well, I think I have to agree with Divamum that once you get started with these things it's hard to stop. Honestly, I hadn't planned to do anything with this challenge but something came to me. I'm just a rank amateur at best and I'm just not sure I quite have the skills to get what I want out of this shot, so I would appreciate any tips or advice that any of you experts want to pass my way.

I'll post the picture in both color and black & white. I 'think' I'm going somewhere with the idea, but I can't seem to get it where I want it. Of course, I don't think I'll know what I want until I get it if you know what I mean!

I'd like a bit of honest criticism here. I have plenty of time to reshoot this to get it right. How's the composition? Is it better in color or black & white? If black & white, how can I make the black & white conversion better? Are the fabric folds in the top corners too distracting? What about that reflection in the shiny trophy? I tried all kinds of 'tricks' for the reflection, but I never figured out how to get ME out of it and still get the picture. This particular reflection was the least offensive of what I've done so far.

Anyway, I'm thinking of "One Down...One to Go" as a title, but I've considered something like "Ready for Polish" or "Next in Line" or something like that. If anyone has a better idea, I'm all for hearing it!

371889738_8Qu7y-M.jpg

371889767_gkErv-M.jpg

Thanks for looking and commenting.

Sherry

Comments

• richterslrichtersl Registered Users Posts: 3,322 Major grins
    edited September 14, 2008
    Of the two you have posted the B&W works better because it hides your red shirt. rolleyes1.gif