Options

Studio Lighting

mike_c1019mike_c1019 Registered Users Posts: 7 Beginner grinner
edited September 16, 2008 in Accessories
I am new to studio lighting and am considering purchasing one of the following light set ups that meet my budget. Does any one have any info on which one may be best, or any other suggestions before I buy?

Product Option 1:Calumet Genisis Monolight 200 comes with 45" umbrella and a 10' stand, sync cord, power cord, 150w modeling lamp. It has a Guide Number (which I do not understand yet) of 125 and a 1-3sec recycle time. $169.99 + tax and shipping.

Product Option 2:Adorama Flashpoint Monolight 320 comes with 40" umbrella and a 10' stand, sync cord, power cord. Guide Number is 118 and 1.2 sec recycle time. $159.95 + tax and shipping.

And info will help.

Thanks
Mike

Comments

• Options
    Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited September 15, 2008
    Have you looked at Paul C Buff's White Lightning or Alien Bee's lines.....very good build quality (made in Nashville Tn).....excellent customer service........
    "Genuine Fractals was, is and will always be the best solution for enlarging digital photos." ....Vincent Versace ... ... COPYRIGHT YOUR WORK ONLINE ... ... My Website

• Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,866 moderator
    edited September 15, 2008
    mike_c1019 wrote:
    I am new to studio lighting and am considering purchasing one of the following light set ups that meet my budget. Does any one have any info on which one may be best, or any other suggestions before I buy?

Product Option 1:Calumet Genisis Monolight 200 comes with 45" umbrella and a 10' stand, sync cord, power cord, 150w modeling lamp. It has a Guide Number (which I do not understand yet) of 125 and a 1-3sec recycle time. $169.99 + tax and shipping.