Help With Waterfall Shots

canon400dcanon400d Banned Posts: 2,826 Major grins
edited September 19, 2008 in Landscapes
Yesterday I took a series of waterfall shots. I used a 40D with a 17-85mm lens. I shoot raw and I always shoot AV mode as I am not professional enough to shoot Manual. I thought the shots were quite good when I took them and looked at them on the LCD but when I put them onto the computer I found that a lot of the whites had burned out and gave a false look to the water. I would appreciate any help and guidance you can give me for my next attempt. C & C is always welcome and truly appreciated.
Regards
Bob.
375144962_3nWZ4-L.jpg
375145010_6Zwxy-L.jpg
375145010_6Zwxy-L.jpg
375145056_wHwFX-L.jpg
375145072_yCQed-L.jpg
375145095_xxxmT-L.jpg
375145115_roEMh-L.jpg
375145196_DHkxd-L.jpg
375145257_Jhg9c-L.jpg

Comments

• TangoTango Registered Users Posts: 4,592 Major grins
    edited September 18, 2008
    im no pro either...but my only thoughts are to spot meter and use manual mode.
    just you need to start using the M mode, otherwise you will always have problems....
    but if you know you have blinkies using AV then turn down the expo comp a full fstop

also, i really like using a 10stop ND filter for water shots...
    you then really need to rely on your histogram and blinkies on the lcd screen..
    Aaron Nelson
  • anwmn1anwmn1 Registered Users Posts: 3,469 Major grins
    I agree with Aaron that you really just need to start shooting manual. It seems like a big deal at first but once you shoot for a little bit you will see it is not very difficult.

On my crappy work monitor the biggest issue I see is composition.

Shots 1, 4, 5 and 6 are downward looking and therefore very flat. Just very uniteresting angles and lacking depth.