Options

This one, only for my fellow Dgrinners.

VysionousVysionous Registered Users Posts: 109 Major grins
edited September 28, 2008 in Finishing School
Picture5-4.jpg

A couple of days ago, I was posting a thread about how could one get the HDR effect on his photos. Ones like Tim Tadder's for example. Although Tim Tadder himself said that he uses multiple hard lights and sophisticated setup (at least to me since I'm still a noob in lighting) I think I've deciphered a bit on how to achieve this effect. Or maybe not so similar, but it belongs to the same school. And because I love the forum, the first thing I thought about was sharing a tutorial.

Notice: This is a time consuming tutorial, it can take up to 45 mins/picture if you want to get it done right. I won't be explaining the tutorial using images. Its an advanced one and it will go as most advanced tutorials are, in points.
You would need a wacom if you don't wanna go crazy, many masks here.

1- Levels
Get your image looking good in the first place, apply medium contrast for now, color correct your image if you need to, wether that be by Levels or by Color Balance.

2- Shadows/Highlight - Mask it
Apply Shadows/Highlights to the entire image, don't care so much about the highlights for now, just concentrate on the shadows, brighten them up to your liking, but the effect should be vivid. Then Alt+click on the layer so that the effect is disabled, then use a brush about 30% opacity and ressurect some good details (eyes, reflections, hair... etc)

3- Highpass - Softlight or Overlay
Merge your layers, duplicate, set blending to softlight or overlay. Apply a highpass filter around 6.0 pixels. Don't go too crazy with the slider, we don't want white halos to appear.

4- Unsharp mask - Mask it
Merge your layers again, apply an USM with an amount of 40-50 and a radius of 7.0. Again, don't go too crazy with the sliders, no need for white halos. Only a decent and a bit over crispy photo.