Options

new CS3 user - workflow ?

ElaineElaine Registered Users Posts: 3,532 Major grins
edited October 3, 2008 in Finishing School
I'm new to CS3 and want to get started on the right foot as far as a simple workflow. Does the following make sense? What should I do differently?

Work on image layers, uncropped, no USM.
Save as PSD (unflattened). If I go back and edit anything, just replace and save the new PSD.
Before uploading to Smug, flatten and crop to appropriate size, apply USM.
Save as a JPEG (with size noted in file name).
Upload.

Eventually, I want to include Lightroom in my workflow, but my brain can only handle so much at once, so I'm starting with CS3.

Am I doing something strange or wrong or inefficient here?

Thanks in advance.
Elaine

Comments and constructive critique always welcome!

Elaine Heasley Photography

Comments

• Options
    jjbongjjbong Registered Users Posts: 244 Major grins
    edited October 1, 2008
    Elaine wrote:
    Save as PSD (unflattened). If I go back and edit anything, just replace and save the new PSD.
    Upload.
    Thanks in advance.

This is reasonable. I do it slightly differently, sharpening before I do the SmugMug conversion (the SmugMug conversion is an action, including converting to sRGB; I use a JavaScript to do the resize, so the original image can be of arbitrary size). I always save the original image from the camera, so I can go back and redo. I never really have to, but it's interesting to see over time whether I've gotten better (and by how much), comparing images I've corrected some time ago with different techniques with the same images using techniques I now use.
    John Bongiovanni
  • Options
    ZanottiZanotti Registered Users Posts: 1,411 Major grins
    edited October 3, 2008
    Elaine wrote:
    I'm new to CS3 and want to get started on the right foot as far as a simple workflow. Does the following make sense? What should I do differently?

Upload.