Help with Football

Novice311Novice311 Registered Users Posts: 4 Beginner grinner
edited October 7, 2008 in Sports
I recently took a job as a reporter/photographer for a small town newspaper. I'm a writer, not a photographer! I've managed to take decent pictures, except at high school football games. These are examples:

DSC_20.jpg

DSC_0079.jpg

It's like Salvador Dali on acid!

Can anyone explain to me (using as little photography jargon as possible) what is wrong? I'm using a Nikon D70.

Thanks!

Comments

• jbr13jbr13 Registered Users Posts: 251 Major grins
    edited October 6, 2008
    I would be happy to try to help but I am at work and can't see pictures posted threw photobucket. Can you attach one or post threw another site? Work has photobuckets photos block for some reason..

J

Thanks![/quote]
    Jason

http://jbr.smugmug.com/

"When you were born, you cried and the world rejoiced... Live your life so that when you die, the world cries and you rejoice"
  • Novice311Novice311 Registered Users Posts: 4 Beginner grinner
    edited October 6, 2008
    Try this: http://photographybydale.shutterfly.com/sports/3
    Click on slideshow.
    Thanks!
  • johngjohng Registered Users Posts: 1,658 Major grins
    edited October 6, 2008
    Novice311 wrote:
    I recently took a job as a reporter/photographer for a small town newspaper. I'm a writer, not a photographer! I've managed to take decent pictures, except at high school football games. These are examples:

It's like Salvador Dali on acid!

Can anyone explain to me (using as little photography jargon as possible) what is wrong? I'm using a Nikon D70.

Thanks!

The reason your photos look like they do is your shutter speed (1/4) was too slow. You have both motion blur (from your subjects moving) and camera shake (pretty tough to hold a camera steady at 1/4 shutter speeds).