Options

Shooting jewelry

scottcolbathscottcolbath Registered Users Posts: 278 Major grins
edited October 28, 2008 in Technique
A gal I know who created her own silver and turquoise jewlery wants me to photograph if for her for use on a web page.

I've never done anything like this before.

All I have is my 30D and XT, a real nice Manfrotto tripod and what I'm guessing, is the best lens out of my corral, a Canon 85mm F/1.8. I also have a 28-135 IS and an 18-55 kit lens. I don't think my 100-300 or 400L is up for this task. :D

I have a cheapo Sunpak 144PC flash and that's it. But living in Arizona, I have tons of natural light which I could make use of.

What's a guy to do?

S.C.

Comments

• Options
    angevin1angevin1 Registered Users Posts: 3,403 Major grins
    edited October 8, 2008
    Scott~

Take a look at these ( http://tomwisephoto.smugmug.com/gallery/3678816_4u9zy#P-1-12 )

I shot about four months after I got my D200. They are not the best but the gal was delighted as you can read in her comments. I shot these in a small room about 6x6 feet with lessee, I think two tungsten 60w bulbs and my 18-70mm kit lens. oh, and lots of velvet.

cheers, tom
    tom wise
  • Options
    joglejogle Registered Users Posts: 422 Major grins
    edited October 8, 2008
    Pick up a cheap light tent of ebay. they come in all sorts of sizes and are perfect for product shots like this.

Round-Light-Tent-KRLT-.jpg

Then you can put the whole lot out in the sun so it lights up 3 sides. This will give you a very soft but still directional light. If you want it even softer. you can use a mirror or some other type of reflector to reflect light back onto the side in the shade.