Options

Camera to Photoshop to Smugmug Process

jh4wvujh4wvu Registered Users Posts: 169 Major grins
edited August 28, 2005 in SmugMug Support
I am just getting started with Smugmug and will have to do my processing a little different from what I am currently doing. I wanted to start this discussion to get an idea of how other get there images ready for SM.

Options that I thought about doing....

A. Upload original image directly from the camera - no post-processing.
B. Open images up in Photoshop CS with batch processing to Sharpen then Save as...jpeg 10/12 and then upload to Smugmug.

Note: For most of my galleries -- the largest photo I will be selling is an 8 x 12. Anything larger will be in a seperate gallery and will be processed in PS before uploading.

I would like to get your opinions on what you do to get you images ready for posting. I am using a Canon 10D which create excellant photos but on the soft side which is why I thought about sharpening before uploading.

I appreciate your feedback and comments.

Thanks,
Chris

Comments

• Options
    BaldyBaldy Registered Users, Super Moderators Posts: 2,853 moderator
    edited May 4, 2005
    Sharpening depends on the subject, with most people preferring shots of cars and buildings to be sharp, and portraits softer. I always sharpen my 10 or 20D shots, but less than the photoshop default for people (say, 35%) and maybe 60% for cars, etc. But your tastes may vary.

We notice from the prints we ship and the feedback we receive, consumers like their prints sharper than pros do. Consumers judge the quality of prints and the printers they were made on by their sharpness. We had someone post on dpreview the other day that our prints were awful, and when I followed up to see what was happening, it was that his local photo store was applying additional sharpening, which we don't do with the true color option, which he chose. Since ours were fuzzier, his conclusion was our printers were pretty bad.