Picking out lenses

wats005wats005 Registered Users Posts: 42 Big grins
edited October 14, 2008 in Cameras
I am very new to the digital world and just picked up my first camera (50d) :clap please forgive me as I know everyone asks this type of question, but i cannot find the thread i had been following on it.

I am looking at getting more lenses but I am uncertain what would be the best. I like to take landscapes/cityscapes, portraits, and participate in the challenges on here..... I will eventually be doing sport photos but not right now. I travel for a job so i need to be able to travel with my equip but not carry a whole 3 suitcases with me! So please think multiple use for now...

Remember I am a beginner, so I am looking to not spend all I have on lenses at once (boring I know) as I feel I need to know how to use one lens before i go buy another one.

Based on what i know i am thinking
50mm 1.8 II
70-200 2.8 (at somepoint in the next year)

What else should I be thinking of and why?
Erica

Still Learning.......

Comments

• BBiggsBBiggs Registered Users Posts: 688 Major grins
    edited October 13, 2008
    wats005 wrote:
    I am very new to the digital world and just picked up my first camera (50d) clap.gif please forgive me as I know everyone asks this type of question, but i cannot find the thread i had been following on it.

I am looking at getting more lenses but I am uncertain what would be the best. I like to take landscapes/cityscapes, portraits, and participate in the challenges on here..... I will eventually be doing sport photos but not right now. I travel for a job so i need to be able to travel with my equip but not carry a whole 3 suitcases with me! So please think multiple use for now...

Remember I am a beginner, so I am looking to not spend all I have on lenses at once (boring I know) as I feel I need to know how to use one lens before i go buy another one.

Based on what i know i am thinking
    50mm 1.8 II