Options

Naming & Filing of picture

glmglm Registered Users Posts: 14 Big grins
edited October 25, 2008 in Finishing School
Hi All,

Just setting up a nw PC and I'd thought it would be a good idea to put some structure to te way we save our pics.

I would be interested to hear how other people name and file their pics.

Comments

• Options
    MalteMalte Registered Users Posts: 1,181 Major grins
    edited October 22, 2008
    glm wrote:
    Hi All,

Just setting up a nw PC and I'd thought it would be a good idea to put some structure to te way we save our pics.

I would be interested to hear how other people name and file their pics.

I just use may camera's naming scheme and I've set it to never reset its image counter.

Malte
  • Options
    aj986saj986s Registered Users Posts: 1,100 Major grins
    edited October 22, 2008
    I'm not a pro, but I take a lot of pics. I initially use the filenames used by my camera. I then (using Import in Lightroom) file the original images to a USB harddrive, using a directory scheme that's date based. I have a folder for each YEAR (Like "2008). Then I have a folder for each MONTH; I use year/month so that is sorts properly (like "2008-10"). Then within each month, I have a separate folder for each EVENT (like "Picnic at XYZ park"). Lately, I've also started adding metadata words during the Import process to further help find pics.

After culling out the worst (I start with RAW pics), I Export them (again in Lightroom) in JPG formalt to another network harddrive I have for our family's home network. I use those copies to upload to Smugmug online. Periodically, I also backup by RAW photo directories to DVD's, which I also maintain by Year & Month. At some point, I'd also like to setup a 2nd USB harddrive to mirror the 1st one.
    Tony P.
    Canon 50D, 30D and Digital Rebel (plus some old friends - FTB and AE1)
    Long-time amateur.....wishing for more time to play
    Autocross and Track junkie
    tonyp.smugmug.com