Options

The Holocaust

imaximax Registered Users Posts: 691 Major grins
edited May 7, 2005 in Landscapes
All this week events have been going on regarding the anniversary of this horrible event from our past. You can read about this in books, you can see it on TV, and in movies. But the visit that I made today to the memorial in Miami Beach

had the most impact on me regarding the suffering and pain that the Jewish people suffered at the hands of Adolf Hitler and his evil empire.

Some shots from today

A View From The Street

21350412-M.jpg

As you enter the memorial you come upon this statue

21350411-M.jpg

A Reflection

21350414-M.jpg

Pictures From The Past

21350416-M.jpg

The Walk

21350417-M.jpg

A Child

21350420-M.jpg

The Hand

21350421-M.jpg

The Names

21350423-M.jpg

One Of Millions

21350424-M.jpg

Shadow Of Death

21333893-M.jpg

The title of this picture was decided for two reasons. First, above this woman's head is Psalm 23

21350428-L.jpg

Second, I'm not a doctor so I cannot say whether or not this woman had a medical condition or was under the influence of something, but she definitly had some issues. As I was photographing the memorial she walked through the long hallway and proceeded to start spitting on the statues. It was one of those instances where the amazement at what she was doing had me dumbfounded and the inability to lift my camera to capture another disgusting moment in time. Instead I told her what I thought and watched her take that long walk and captured her in the above photo.
Then I Got Security, Freakin Nut!
One Final One

21350888-M.jpg

Joe B

Comments

• Options
    KirwinKirwin Registered Users Posts: 417 Major grins
    edited May 5, 2005
    Hi Joe,