Options

Can I please have your opinion on my LR2 workflow and some questions?

bandgeekndbbandgeekndb Registered Users Posts: 284 Major grins
edited November 3, 2008 in Finishing School
Good morning all!

As I end up processing a ton of photos recently, I'm realizing I really need to work out a frame for my workflow, even if I'm not a professional. Like most, I'm trying to maximize my time at the computer, since I get so little of it, and minimize the amount of repetitive work I have to do.

Here is what I do (roughly) at this point:
  1. Download all pics (JPEG) from camera using Lightroom 2.1 and its Import dialog. Right now, my folder structure is "\Pictures\2008\2008-10-31\" and I'm happy with that, although I might end up wanting a custom name in there for the event
  2. Go through the photos, and rate them from 3-5 stars, and delete the cruft (reject them, then Ctrl+backspace to delete the rejects)
  3. On second pass through the photos, crop, adjust light levels, mild sharpening, etc. Basically, just the bare bones post processing. Most times, it's a simple crop and I move on. After the image is done, I mark it with a green label to signify it is done.
At this point, I'm not sure what I want to do. I now realize I need to export the photos to get Lightroom to write the changes. Normally, I would write to Smugmug and be done, but now I'm trying to figure out what I'm going to do about local file exports.

I already learned the hard way not to overwrite the originals, because somehow I mucked it up and lost a nice shoot I had done with my girlfriend. So for now, I'm just exporting to a subfolder. This way, I have the originals and the edits. I am NOT adding the new exports to the catalog at this point, since I wasn't sure what I wanted in the catalog.

SO, on to the questions! I've tried googling, but nothing seemed specific to my questions, just some general advice on LR2 workflows, which didn't seem to apply to what I wanted to do.
Questions: