Options

Spinoff thread: Titles

2»

Comments

• Options
    swintonphotoswintonphoto Registered Users Posts: 1,664 Major grins
    edited November 29, 2008
    Actually many of the worlds most famous and influential photographers historically such as Bernice Abbott, Ansel Adams, Paul Caponigro, Tillman Crane, Eugene Atget, Margaret Bourke-White, Alexander Rodchenko, Walker Evans, Alfred Stieglitz etc. would only title their pieces by the name of the location or subject being photographed. They rarely used illustrative names. If you don't believe me - check it out.
    This is not to say one way or another is better, however, historically, names of photographs have not played a large role. Most photographic masters relied solely on the quality of the image, not the name. In fact some of the worlds most famous images are titled 'untitled'. I think there is a lot to be said allowing the image to speak for itself. I am an artist who loves to allow the viewer to create their own experience and interpretation of an image. I think if the artist decides to leave an image untitled, or if they want the title to be an integral part of the image, that should be up to each artists discretion. However, should one choose to leave an image untitled or have a basic name, I think this should not be a reason to discount the image.
  • Options
    LiquidAirLiquidAir Registered Users Posts: 1,751 Major grins
    edited November 29, 2008
    justThorne wrote:
    But I wonder why? Why should this "standing on its own" be an inherent value over "gaining even more from an apt title?"