Credentials

bandgeekndbbandgeekndb Registered Users Posts: 284 Major grins
edited November 24, 2008 in Sports
Not really a shot per-say, but more of a question:

How do you (the amateur, go about getting credentials at an attempt to get on the sideline? Obviously, I'm not going to be writing the New York Giants trying to get a press pass, but for a college team (especially if I'm a current student or an alumni), or other events where close-up access is limited?

Thanks!
Nikon D7000, D90

Sigma 18-50 f/2.8, 70-200 f/2.8
Nikkor 55-200mm f/4-5.6, 50mm f/1.8

Comments

• JzazziJzazzi Registered Users Posts: 111 Major grins
    edited November 3, 2008
    My photography began about the same time I started working for large local radio stations. Under the guise of shooting for the radio stations' websites depending on which event I wanted to go to, it was very simple to get access to local events. Sometimes it was as simple as showing a business card, sometimes much more complicated.

I've never tried to gain access somewhere without using my employer as leverage, but I did learn a very important lesson. If you can show a valid reason to photograph an event, people are less likely to question it. Get involved with a college newspaper, radio station, local media of some kind and I think doors will start opening for you.

-J
  • Matt336Matt336 Registered Users Posts: 303 Major grins
    edited November 3, 2008
    I'm in the process currently. I just emailed the Athletic Department wondering if they were looking for a photographer/assistant photographer. I am currently waiting to hear back from them after sending them my portfolio.
  • TPBinKCTPBinKC Registered Users Posts: 194 Major grins
    edited November 4, 2008
    Not really a shot per-say, but more of a question: