Options

B&W with a hint of colour?

CantfeelmyfingersCantfeelmyfingers Registered Users Posts: 531 Major grins
edited November 20, 2008 in Finishing School
I'm very new to using PS and I cannot for the life of me figure out how to have a 'black and white' image with a tint of blue\red\purple\brown\'vanilla', etc... I'm only using elements so actions aren't an option. Any help would be fab! Thanks in advance!!:D
"Take my picture, Tonight I feel beautiful..."
-Marilyn Monroe

Comments

• Options
    RichardRichard Administrators, Vanilla Admin Posts: 19,937 moderator
    edited November 13, 2008
    I'm very new to using PS and I cannot for the life of me figure out how to have a 'black and white' image with a tint of blue\red\purple\brown\'vanilla', etc... I'm only using elements so actions aren't an option. Any help would be fab! Thanks in advance!!:D

There are a number of ways to accomplish this. The easiest is to choose the color you want, place a solid color fill layer on top of the B&W and set the blending mode of the fill layer to color. Then adjust the opacity of the fill layer to taste and flatten.
  • Options
    GJMPhotoGJMPhoto Registered Users Posts: 372 Major grins
    edited November 13, 2008
    If you're looking for a general wash tint (like a sepia), then either:
    1. If you're using CS3 or CS4, you can click the 'tint' button on the Black and White Adjustment (or adjustment layer) tab and choose the color you would like to use as tinting.
    2. Use the color fill layer technique Richard suggested above.
    IF you're looking to have the natural colors of the photo peek through the black and white layer - kind of like hand painting - then you could:

1) Start with the full color photo in it's own layer
    2) If you're using CS3 or CS4:
    • Create a B&W Adjustment layer and adjust the B&W image as you like it
    If earlier than CS3:
    • Duplicate the layer - name it B&W