Options

Help with prints

PanfotoPanfoto Registered Users Posts: 14 Big grins
edited November 17, 2008 in Finishing School
I seem to have gotten myself in a bit of a pickle. You see I'm relatively new to photography as a whole and very new to getting prints done. I wanted to see the differences between auto and true in this photo:

412882631_m85ZF-L.jpg

So as a test I ordered some prints through smugmug. When I got them back one looks pretty much like my monitor. The other looks, well, muddy. Like all the contrast is gone from everything except the sky. It took a minute, but I soon realized that I had no way of telling which was which. The codes on the back of the prints are exactly the same. For what it's worth I have tried to calibrate the gamma on my LCD, but the backlight is very bright and there doesn't seem to be much I can do about that. I'd love to print out one of those nifty new fotoflots but I don't want to spend a bunch of money just to find out I should have chosen the "other" printing option.

Any ideas how I can tell which is which?

Thanks so much!

Comments

• Options
    AndyAndy Registered Users Posts: 50,016 Major grins
    edited November 13, 2008
    The brighter (not muddy) one will be Auto. Fotoflot doesn't have the same 'auto' that we do at our lab, so we'll want to get that perfectly processed before you send it off to them :)
    We'll help if you want.
  • Options
    edited November 13, 2008
    Andy wrote:
    The brighter (not muddy) one will be Auto. Fotoflot doesn't have the same 'auto' that we do at our lab, so we'll want to get that perfectly processed before you send it off to them :)
    We'll help if you want.

Ok, my monitor must be pretty out of whack then. Not the answer I was hoping for, but the one I was pretty much expecting :)