giving direction

juliecjuliec Registered Users Posts: 6 Beginner grinner
edited November 18, 2008 in People
hey guys,
i'm pretty new to doing portraits, even though i've always loved taking pictures of people. but i find myself nervous when it comes to posing people. like i don't completely yet know how to convey the picture i have in my head so that it translates to film (er, well, computer)... any ideas? do you all have any tricks? what are some of your favorite poses?

Comments

• i_worship_the_Kingi_worship_the_King Registered Users Posts: 548 Major grins
    edited November 16, 2008
    EDIT:: AHH!! I didn't see this was your first post! Welcome to dGrin! We're so glad you're here!

I admit, I'm terrible at this too. Usually I spend about 30 minutes before a shoot cruising over the 'People' forum and/or checking out sites I have googled in advance for poses. I try to latch on to 2-3 and strive to make up at least 1 on the fly.

Plus, for me, it's really difficult to change shooting environments when posing people. For instance on day I may be asked to shoot someone outdoor, alone, and the poses will be completely different from say posing for a senior pic, or for a formal line of people like at a prom where the shots are kind of cookie-cutter. A quick review always seems to help though!:D
    I make it policy to never let ignorance stand in the way of my opinion. ~Justiceiro

"Your decisions on whether to buy, when to buy and what to buy should depend on careful consideration of your needs primarily, with a little of your wants thrown in for enjoyment, After all photography is a hobby, even for pros."
    ~Herbert Keppler
  • sweet carolinesweet caroline Registered Users Posts: 1,589 Major grins
    edited November 16, 2008